Governance of the STRN is based on the following structural elements:

  • A Board, including a chair, which coordinates the network and has responsibility for core operational tasks
  • The steering group (SG) gives strategic advice to the board members on the development of the network. SG members are experienced transition scholars and /or those who play or want to play an active role in developing STRN further. The SG strives for representational diversity, e.g. in terms of gender, age, topics, research groups and region. 
  • STRN is managed by a secretariat, which professionally supports existing activities, day-to-day operations, the development of strategic projects and the volunteer work of the steering group.
  • STRN is financially supported by a group of institutional members, which are national or international centers for sustainability transitions research
  • Working groups that coordinate strategic tasks in a temporary, project based fashion

Florian Kern
Institute for Ecological Economy Research, Berlin

Wouter Boon
Utrecht University, Utrecht


Katharina Schiller
CIMMYT, Texcoco, Mexico


The secretariat is based at the Copernicus Institute of Sustainable Development, Utrecht University.  

Adriaan van der Loos_Geo_Jeroen-Berends_2023_01 Square
Lisa Bettoni_Geo_Jeroen-Berends_2023_01 (002)

Adriaan van der Loos

Network manager

Copernicus Institute

Utrecht University, Utrecht

Lisa Bettoni

Secretarial support

Copernicus Institute 

Utrecht University, Utrecht

Steering Group

Bipashyee Ghosh

Dept. of Science, Technology, Engineering and Public Policy, University College London

Ingrid Johansson Mignon 
Dept. of Technology Management and Economics, Chalmers, Gothenburg

Daniel Rosenbloom
Research Chair in Sustainability Transitions & Assistant Professor, School of Public Policy and Administration, Carleton University

Aline Scherrer
Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research ISI, Germany

Tom Hawxwell

Tom Hawxwell
HafenCity University, Hamburg

Merin Raju Jacob 2022

Merin Raju Jacob
CST, Stellenbosch University

Anton Sentic
ZHAW Zurich University of Applied Sciences, Winterthur

Sophie-Marie Ertelt
Center for Sustainable Business, Örebro University, Örebro

Bernhard Truffer
Eawag, Dübendorf

Bruno Turnheim
LISIS, Paris

Kejia Yang
TIK, University of Oslo, Oslo

Xiao-Shan Yap
Eawag, Dübendorf

The STRN network thanks its past steering group members
  • Floor Alkemade
  • Kathleen Araújo
  • Flor Avelino
  • Anna Bergek
  • Jeroen van den Bergh
  • Christian Binz
  • Marie-Claire Brisbois
  • Lars Coenen
  • Frank Geels
  • John Grin
  • Fjalar de Haan
  • Alex Hazeltine
  • Marko Hekkert
  • Abe Hendriks
  • Verena Hermelingmeier
  • Lea Fünfschilling
  • Ulrik Jörgensen
  • Wisdom Kanda
  • Paula Kivimaa
  • Jonathan Köhler
  • Klaus Kubeczko
  • Derk Loorbach
  • Andrew McMeekin
  • Patience Mguni
  • Susan Mühlemeier
  • Erik Paredis
  • Rob Raven
  • Karoline Rogge
  • Daniel Rosenbloom
  • Björn Sanden
  • Aline Scherrer
  • Uwe Schneidewind
  • Adrian Smith
  • Jonas Torrens
  • Mapula Tshangela
  • Jan-Peter Voß
  • Julius Wesche
  • Anna Wieczorek
Join Us